Republic of the Union of Myanmar President Office Notification No. 92/2012

Sun, 12/02/2012 - 11:29

Republic of the Union of Myanmar

President Office

Notification No. 92/2012

3rd Waxing of Tazaungmon 1374 ME

1 December 2012

Formation of Investigation Commission

1.	"Inve	stigatio	on Comi	missi	on" is	forme	ed wi	th the	follo	wing	pers	ons t	o go	o throu	gh w	/hether
СО	pper	mining	g should	be !	contir	nued a	and t	o find	out	the	true	situat	ion	about	the	recent
СО	ntaini	ng of	protest	in L	.etpada	aungta	aung	Coppe	er M	ining	Pro	ject i	n S	alingyi	Tov	vnship,
Mo	onywa	Distri	ct, Saga	ing F	Region											

(a) Daw Aung San Suu Kyi

Chairperson

Pyithu Hluttaw representative

Yangon Region, Kawhmu Township Constituency

(b) U Lun Thi Member

Pyithu Hluttaw representative

Yangon Region, Kungyangon Township Constituency

(c) U Than Myint Member

Pyithu Hluttaw representative

Sagaing Region, Salingyi Township Constituency

(d) Daw Khin San Hlaing Member

Pyithu Hluttaw representative

Sagaing Region, Pale Township Constituency

(e) U Zaw Myint Pe Member

Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Member					
Director-General, Settlement and Land Records Department,					

Amyotha Hluttaw representative

Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation (p) U Tin Myint Member Deputy Director-General, General Administration Department, Ministry of Home Affairs (q) U Hla Maung Thein Member Deputy Director-General, Environmental Conservation Department, Ministry of Environmental Conservation and Forestry (r) Dr Daw Kaythi Lwin Member Acting Rector, University of Technology (Thanlyin), Ministry of Science and Technology Member (s) Dr Daw Marlar Aung Pro-Rector, Yangon East University, Ministry of Education Member (t) U Aung Naing Oo Myanmar Peace Center (u) U Paw Oo Tun (a) Min Ko Naing Member "88" Generation Students Group Member (v) U Ko Ko Gyi "88" Generation Students Group Member (w) Dr Myint Thein Director, Occupational Health Department, Ministry of Health (x) U Nay Oo Member **Deputy Director** Sagaing Region General Administration Department,

(y) U Win Kyi

Head of Production Department,

Union of Myanmar Economic Holdings Limited

Member

Member (z) Lt-Col Aung Than Ministry of Defence (aa) U Bo Than Member Kankon village, Kyaukmyat village-tract, Salingyi Township, Sagaing Region (bb) U Aung Zaw Oo Member Wethmay village, Ywarshe village-tract, Salingyi Township, Sagaing Region (cc) U Bo Htay Member Tonywama village, Ton village-tract, Salingyi Township, Sagaing Region (dd) U Sit Myaing Secretary Myanmar National Human Rights Commission

- 2. The investigation commission will investigate the following cases and submit assessment for ensuring the rule of law and national interest along with recommendations.
- (a) whether the copper mine project adheres to international norms and employ appropriate technologies for environmental conservation;
- (b) impacts and profits of the copper mine project on social and natural environments;
- (c) whether the copper mine project will be profitable for the State;
- (d) causes of protests that demanded the shutdown of the copper mine project;
- (e) review on control of protests and injuries of members of Sangha;
- (f) whether the copper mine project should continue or the foreign investment should be suspended;
- (g) suggestions on development of the country and the rule of law;
- (h) miscellaneous reviews and suggestions of the commission;
- 3. Union Minister at the President Office U Hla Tun is responsible for administrative matters of the investigation commission while assuming duties. The President Office and the Sagaing Region Government under the guidance of the Union Minister shall fulfill the security and administrative requirements of the investigation commission in action.

4. The investigation commission shall conduct investigation in accord with code of criminal procedure and evidence act, summoning witnesses, asking for documents and visiting necessary sites. The investigation report shall be submitted to the President by 31 December, 2012.

Sd/Thein Sein

President

Republic of the Union of Myanmar



Source URL: http://www.president-office.gov.mm/en/briefing-room/news/2012/12/02/id-1155